Desolation Point Up for Grabs!

I always reckon that good news calls for celebration. Good news one: Desolation Point‘s release date is just around the corner. Good news two: BSB recently picked up its sequel, Tumbledown, for publication in 2014 🙂

So, to celebrate, I have three signed (or unsigned if you prefer!) copies of Desolation Point up for grabs, along with some delicious, only slightly tooth-rotting bars of Kendal Mint Cake.

DPandmintcake

To enter, just say hallo in this post, or, if you’re shy, head over here to my Facebook page and hit “like” in the give-away thread. I’ll stick the names in a hat on Saturday (23rd March) at noon GMT.

Good luck!

About Cari Hunter

Cari Hunter is the author of "Snowbound", "Desolation Point" and "Tumbledown", and the Dark Peak series of crime thrillers - "No Good Reason", "Cold to the Touch", and "A Quiet Death" - all published by Bold Strokes Books.
This entry was posted in Desolation Point, Free stuff!, Novels. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Desolation Point Up for Grabs!

  1. Devlyn says:

    I am eagerly awaiting the release of Desolation Point and Tumbledown. Although 2114 seems so far away. Oh, hello.

    • Devlyn says:

      woops had too many 1’s in it, should read 2014.

      • Cari Hunter says:

        LOL. I think leaving a sequel for 101 years might diminish its chances of success somewhat *g* I’m keeping my fingers crossed it’ll be early 2014, but I really have no idea at this point. Soon as I know, I’ll let folks know!

        And you’re in the hat 🙂

  2. Jen Odon says:

    I haven’t read any of your work yet but you just got put on my list… my goal is to own all the lesbian novels out there! I have a good start and if it was about 20 years ago I would have reached that goal but now there are so many new authors that it is hard to keep up and I think that is wonderful! I really hope I never run out of materials to add to my collection!

    • Cari Hunter says:

      Hi Jen, cheers for getting in touch. There certainly are a lot of lesbian/LesFic authors out there, I wouldn’t know where to start with making a list! I’ve added you into the DP draw. Good luck 🙂

  3. Pam Goodwin says:

    Whoowhoo! Great news! I got notification that my copy of Desolation Point will arrive on Tuesday! Congrats about the sequel! Would love a signed copy for my book collection! Good luck all.

    • Cari Hunter says:

      Eep! I hope you like it, you’ll have to let me know what you think. I’ve put you into the draw, so there’s a chance you’ll be able to nibble some Kendal Mint Cake while you read it 🙂

      • Pam Goodwin says:

        Liked it?! I loved it !! Bravo! A real page turner. Well done! I just put up a review at Amazon.

        Two questions though –
        1. In the book, the name is Desolation PEAK, not Point. Did someone change something along the line?
        2. What in the world are COMBAT pants?!???!

        • Cari Hunter says:

          Well, suffice to say you made my day with your review 🙂 I think you hit on all the things I love about the novel, so I’m really happy that they came across well.

          I decided to call the novel Desolation Point, it wasn’t altered or tinkered with. It was less literal as a title than Desolation Peak – I wanted to link it to the state of mind of both Alex and Sarah, and their reasons for ending up in the park in the first place. Also, on a purely strategical note, anyone googling “Desolation Peak” is likely to get some lovely photos of a mountain rather than my novel 😉

          Combat pants are probably a UK slip that should’ve been Cargo pants from Alex’s POV ( I think she uses the term once, Sarah a couple of times.) Those Unknown Unknowns again! But those pants do look terribly good on a woman 😉

  4. Pingback: News roundup: new novels, free novels, and genre pigeonholes… | UK Lesbian Fiction

  5. solargrrl says:

    A chance to win Desolation Point AND Mint Cake?? wow! What a wonderful deal!
    I greatly enjoyed Snowbound and would love to read a signed copy of Desolation Point. Please add me to the list of those shouting ‘Hallo’. Thanks !

    • Cari Hunter says:

      It’s the mint cake that’s got you excited really, isn’t it? 😉 I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed Snowbound and I have added you into the draw, forthwith!

  6. Susan Mitchell says:

    Your books sound good to me, and I can never turn down a chance at a giveaway. I enjoyed your interview and notes from Palm Springs, and you made me homesick for Joshua Tree. I will look forward to reading your books.

    • Cari Hunter says:

      Thanks, Susan. I hope the homesickness is easing a little. I still love looking through our JT photos, they came out beautifully. You’re in the hat for the freebies and I wish you the best of British! (which roughly translates as: good luck *g*)

  7. Hannah says:

    Hallo! Would be glad to read your book and thus get to discover a new author.

  8. great can’t wait to read it, will keep my fingers crossed for a signed copy :o)

  9. stephanie haviland says:

    Hi, I would love to read it– or eat cake. Or both.

  10. I can’t seem to leave a ‘like’ on your facebook giveaway thread without friending you…

  11. Hello there from the Black Forest in Germany!
    I’d really love to read your new book, the first one was absolutely cool…

    • Cari Hunter says:

      Hallo there! Mmm, Black Forest, Now I’m craving cake of a very different sort 🙂 Lovely to hear you enjoyed Snowbound, and I’ve popped you on the list for the Desolation Point draw. Thanks for getting in touch.

  12. Cara says:

    Is Kendal Mint Cake British? I’ve never heard of it before.

    • Cari Hunter says:

      It’s British; they make it in Kendal, a little village in the Lake District which is just north of where I live. It’s mentioned in the book and I thought it’d catch people’s attention in a giveaway – seems to have worked 😉 Cheers for commenting, I’ve added your name to the draw.

  13. SueH says:

    Looking forward to reading your new book. Loved Snowbound.

  14. Angella says:

    I’ve been so busy at work I have not had time to check messages. Could have gotten a free copy of your book (who am I kidding I’ve got rotten luck all around–that’s why I didn’t check messages!). I Cannot wait till I can buy a copy of your book Carrie. I already know it going to be awesome reading!

Leave a Reply

